Djcnor’s Weblog

Today, on the web and off

Posted on: August 10, 2008

I’m on the web every day. I have been for over 20 years now. In the mid-90’s, I moved from New York City to Poland, where the wai for a phone line was five years, so if I had gotten one, it would have been of no use for contacting locals. To do that, you  went to their place and wrote a message on the wax tablet (the kind you  used to have as a kid’s toy that was wiped clean by raising the plastic cover sheet) hanging on their door if they weren’t home. Mobiles were just barely mobile, and would not have been economically practical for letting family and friends know I was still alive. And to top it off, before I had made any dent in learning the language, the partner I had arrived there with had hooked up with one of his students, so I dumped him. Alone in a strange land, I wrote and wrote and wrote to keep my sanity. And I’ve never stopped.

My interests, and thus the contents of my posts, are cyclical. They are likely to be consistent in general subjects, arts, politics, and a business start-up idea, but constantly changing in specifics. At present, the art in question is fabric painting, the politics are concentrated on Europe/US comparisons and the best arrangements for human individual well-being, and the business is an ultralocal slow fashion company.

If these things interest you, come and comment. I’m abandoning my website with the intention of substituting this blog, so I’ll be posting pictures, but not videos. And I’m not familiar yet, with WordPress, so I’ll be learning how to make this thing the best I can.

Leave a Reply

Djcnor’s Weblog

  • @KathrynGoldman Saw your blog post on famous people in fiction. Have character who is supposed to be dead, turns out not to be. OK? 3 months ago
  • I'm back! I haven't posted in a long time, but since Joanie Freeman and I won Charlottesville SOUP, I feel the need to return. 4 years ago
  • Haven't been here on my new iPad. Page looks totally different. Where is the option to reply? And where are the RT's? 5 years ago
  • RECALL LAMAR SMITH< PROPOSER OF SOPA< WHO HAS CALLED THE WEB BLACKOUT A PUBLICITY STUNT! PLEASE RT!!! 5 years ago
  • @The_Puck Same to you. You denial is damaging to yourself and all you care about, assuming there must be some of those. 5 years ago
