Djcnor’s Weblog

Extra! Extra! Jill Bolte Taylor

Posted on: December 31, 2008

Yesterday, my local library called and said that my reserve request was in, so I’ve started reading Dan Pink’s A Whole New Mind. It’s a 2005 book, and definitely a book of its time missing some information and recent history that would put a different perspective on what it has to say, but it’s  still going to be an idea book.

It was just by luck that I came upon a lecture of Jill Bolte Taylor’s in the middle of reading it. She’s a neuroanatomist who got hit with a massive stroke some ten years ago, and so had the background to observe from the inside what was happening, and she’s written a book on her experience and lectures on it.

There’s a website connected with it all:

http://www.mystrokeofinsight.com/

which you might well want to look over in more detail if the video turns out to be interesting to you, as it definitely was to me. Here’s a link to the video.

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jill_bolte_taylor_s_powerful_stroke_of_insight.html

One consequence of watching it for me will be my reading Betty Edward’s Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain or New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. Art is a part of what I do, and I’ve been hearing about this book for ages, of course, but had a resistance to it. The Pink book and Bolte Taylor’s lecture have led me to understand for myself how, even with the knowledge of neuroscience I already have, it might be useful for me.

If you’ve read or seen any of these and would like to get into a discussion about them, please do comment.

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/jill_bolte_taylor_s_powerful_stroke_of_insight.html

Leave a Reply

Djcnor’s Weblog

  • @KathrynGoldman Saw your blog post on famous people in fiction. Have character who is supposed to be dead, turns out not to be. OK? 6 months ago
  • I'm back! I haven't posted in a long time, but since Joanie Freeman and I won Charlottesville SOUP, I feel the need to return. 4 years ago
  • Haven't been here on my new iPad. Page looks totally different. Where is the option to reply? And where are the RT's? 5 years ago
  • RECALL LAMAR SMITH< PROPOSER OF SOPA< WHO HAS CALLED THE WEB BLACKOUT A PUBLICITY STUNT! PLEASE RT!!! 5 years ago
  • @The_Puck Same to you. You denial is damaging to yourself and all you care about, assuming there must be some of those. 5 years ago
