Djcnor’s Weblog

Want to See the Economy Rebound?

Posted on: March 3, 2009

Want to see the economy rebound? Who doesn’t, right?

How bad do you want to see the economy rebound? Think about it. Take your time. Enough to cease all efforts to keep a program you don’t like from working?

No? Then you can expect a continuation of the stock market falling, businesses closing, jobs being lost, houses being lost, and so on and so on and so on.

Because, face it, no one can truly have good faith that Obama’s program will work as long as there are so many people putting so much effort into seeing that it doesn’t get a chance to work.

Think some more. Suppose you succeed in obstructing it to the point that it doesn’t work. How will you benefit? Go ahead, tell me how?

Will you benefit by continued Wall Street losses? By your property’s value falling still further? By more businesses closing in the town you live in? By having greater numbers of homeless around?

By having more crime?

Because folks who do not have the money to provide themselves with food and shelter do not stop seeking food and shelter. They don’t just lie down and die. They do whatever is necessary to provide themselves with food and shelter and all the basic needs. After all, what would you not do to provide your child with these? How can you expect more self and family sacrifice of anyone else?

On the other hand, suppose you simply stop obstructing Obama’s program. Suppose you just step back, saying “I don’t approve of this plan. I don’t think it will work. But I’m going to give it every chance of working. I’m not going to just stop obstructing it. I’m going to do all I can to show that even with the full support of everyone in the US, including folks like me who have serious doubts, it can’t and won’t work! I’m going to give it two full years to show signs of success. I’m going to use those two years to come up with an alternative plan. And if or when Obama’s plan hasn’t worked in two years, I’m going to fight tooth and nail to see a new a very different plan implemented.”

What do you think would happen to the stock market, to house prices, to job losses, to all those problems we’re facing now?

I think the economy would take a major turn and start rising.

Go ahead. Stop obstructing and prove me wrong.

4 Responses to "Want to See the Economy Rebound?"

Quest. “How does one say”..Screw the USA economy”, in
“Kenyanese?”

SAns: Barack Hussein Obama.”

Well, if that were a reasoned argument, I’d have more to reply to. But go ahead. As long as you keep obstructing and the economy continues to go down, my prediction holds, and I don’t think you’ll enjoy the fruits of your efforts.

I would like to float a proposal for an economic stimulus plan past you for your consideration. The basics of the idea are in an article at http://tinyurl.com/dknr3c . Please review this article and let me know what you think. This will be the basis for a more in depth paper on the concept.

Thank you for assisting with this project.

Robert K. Minniti, CPA, CFE, Cr.FA, CFF, MBA

Thanks for your comment. I will look and let you know what I think of it.

Leave a Reply

Djcnor’s Weblog

  • @KathrynGoldman Saw your blog post on famous people in fiction. Have character who is supposed to be dead, turns out not to be. OK? 6 months ago
  • I'm back! I haven't posted in a long time, but since Joanie Freeman and I won Charlottesville SOUP, I feel the need to return. 4 years ago
  • Haven't been here on my new iPad. Page looks totally different. Where is the option to reply? And where are the RT's? 5 years ago
  • RECALL LAMAR SMITH< PROPOSER OF SOPA< WHO HAS CALLED THE WEB BLACKOUT A PUBLICITY STUNT! PLEASE RT!!! 5 years ago
  • @The_Puck Same to you. You denial is damaging to yourself and all you care about, assuming there must be some of those. 5 years ago
