Djcnor’s Weblog

Just Take Any Job

Posted on: March 18, 2009

This post is for all those nudnik who tell folks like me who have high level qualifications that in these hard time we have to be willing to take any job.

I was willing.

In fact, now I will name a name. What do I have to lose at this point?

Norwich Union (Aviva as it likes to call itself) just turned down a Ph.D. in biochemistry with experience in publishing and another degree and experience as a textile designer in a fashion company for a job on their phone bank.

Update:

As if in counterpoint to that turn-down, I just came home to an e-mail scheduling an interview for a job that would allow me to build new skills and use the old ones. Of course, they asked for the interview at the time that I’m due to turn up at the job centre and prove I’ve been diligently job hunting, so now I’m calling the job centre to reschedule. No way I’m rescheduling the interview. If I have to head on down to the job centre and straighten it out in person tomorrow, that is exactly what I’ll do.

Now, that feels better.

Leave a Reply

Djcnor’s Weblog

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

